Board Gaming, Game Design

Dispatches from the front line.

Scar

So, I know I keep slipping further and further behind in delivering the goods to you, my lovely audience of two, but what can I say? Life intervenes. Sometimes games do too.

The past few weeks have seen me move for the 15th time in 19 years. I’ve also ratcheted up design work pace on two properties that are not mine, and one that is. I’m not quite ready to talk about it yet, but the plan is to have a prototype ready for GenCon Indy, so if you are a reader and plan on being there, come find me and I’ll show you the best game that doesn’t yet exist.
In the void created by my silence, I advise people to check out Game Mechanic for Hire, a blog that I came across a few weeks ago. Without explicitly spelling anything out, Phil gives amateur game designers some things to chew on. He’s certainly put a few ideas in my head.
Stay tuned to this spot, I have a lot of things I want to talk about, and when time allows, I’ll actually talk about them.
While I wait though, I’m considering getting some new games. Here are some of the ones I’m considering, tell me why (or why not) I should look into them.
  • Order of the Stick  In moving, I came across all of my OOTS books. I’ve run through them all and want to pick up “Don’t Split the Party” and “War and XPs” when the reprints become available. Probably GenCon. I’ve heard this game, in its shortest, takes 2+ hours, which is a lot to ask of any game not called “Battlestar Galactica” but I adore the source material.
  • Battlestar Galactica: Exodus Expansion  I haven’t picked this one up yet. I’ve heard good things about it. The biggest reason I haven’t picked up this expansion is because I don’t feel the base set has run out of gas. If I’m having fun with the first, do I need more?
  • Seven Sisters  It looks like those lovable scallywags at Wishing Tree Games are going to make their Kickstarter funding goal, so this might be something coming out in the future. It looks interesting, and I have a soft spot for underdogs.
  • Lords of Waterdeep  looks pretty neat, and is not a D&D-in-a-box like the other recent D&D games are.
  • Dixit has been on my radar for a while. The problem with a game like this is finding the right group of people to play with.
There are plenty more, but if I sit here and keep listing games I want to try, I’ll be here all afternoon. Geekway to the West is coming up soon as well, so plenty of opportunity to try before I buy. What’s rocking your world?
5 thoughts on “Dispatches from the front line.

Leave a Reply

