Healthy Gamer, Randomly Awesome

Everyone’s a hero in their own way

You can’t stop the future. You can’t rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret…is to press play.” Jay Asher

Let’s kick this one off by offending some people. In a largely insensitive and potentially wildly inaccurate generalization, we gamers are a sedentary and often lazy group of people. We come in all shapes and sizes, but I don’t think I’d be too far off the mark by suggesting that more of us tip the scales on the heavier side than not. To those nerds reading this who’ve won the genetic lottery, feel free to stick around, but I don’t really expect you to understand or be able to empathize with a lot of what will be going on here.

Personally, I know a bunch of gamers who watch what they eat, exercise regularly, etc. Hell, I’m one of them. Let’s be honest though, these sorts are probably in the minority if a look around the average game convention is any indication. Now before I say anything else, I need to make it clear that I’m not here to fat-shame. It’s not really my style to shame anyone (except people who think Dane Cook is funny) (’cause really, what the fuck, people?) and truth told, I’m a star player for Team Fat Guy.

Most heavy people have tried different things to slim down, some successful, some less so. Everyone who has been down this path one way or another no doubt has strong feelings tied to it. I’m not going to go into the social stigmas of obesity, or the many and varied health risks. We’re all aware of those. I’m going to try something new, and I’m here to find my way to make this interesting and nerdy.

So I had this thought last week “what is something I could do that simultaneously scratches my self-improvement itch, supports my desire to keep the blog expanding and keep it geeky and fun?” Something that would interest me and I would follow if I weren’t the one doing it.

Today is July 16, 2012. In 473 days, come hell or high fucking water, I will be Captain Hammer for Halloween 2013.

Which gives me approximately 15 months to transform from this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

into this:

Which makes a pretty great segue to say that Monday will officially be the day where I update Healthy Gamer stuff. Mondays are largely reviled, but are also traditionally used as starting points. Like a mini New Year’s Day that happens once a week.

Yes, I’ll be taking pics along the way (we’ll see about how many I post), but for the most part, I’ll be focusing on the journey that promises to be as exhausting as it is exhilarating, and figuring out the sweet spot between making it nerdy enough to make it interesting and effective enough to accomplish my goal.

Talking about this once per week and continuing to build the audience only ratchets up the pressure to perform and the expectation to succeed. So, my one loyal reader, do me a favor and tell a couple of your friends to tune in. Maybe someone’ll be inspired by what I’m setting out to do and take action in their own life. More likely is that I’ll be trolled almost to death, but I welcome their assholery as much as I welcome the support those who would offer it. I’ve got a lot to prove. The way I see it, the bigger audience I have for this, the more people I risk letting down, the less likely I am to falter. I’m not saying it’s a great philosophy, but I know me and what motivates me. I’m so vain that Carly Simon wrote a song about me.

So begins a big step in my lifestyle inspired by 50 Cent. “Get (state of being) or Die Tryin’.” Seeing as 50 Cent is both rich and alive, I think he’s onto something here.

13 thoughts on “Everyone’s a hero in their own way

  1. While I have absolutely no context for any of that, I did share it to my Facebook wall to try and garner views from people who aren’t as lucky as I am to have the metabolism of a god. While now I am merely not fat, a good portion of my life I was very in shape. I went to state for wrestling in high school, and out of high school I trained MMA. Unfortunately, in my late teens I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes, and apparently its very difficult to get licensed to fight with that particular disease, so I had to let that ambition go. That being said, I do know alot about losing weight and building muscle.

    1. I appreciate the bump Dale. Going hugely public with this is a little bit of a scary step, but I’m excited about the potential too. I have a determination capable of moving mountains, and the eyes will make sure that I do. Oddly, I think it’ll be more difficult looking for some 60 topics to make this nerdy and fun than the actual process. But, I’m probably wrong about that. 🙂

  2. Good luck to you sir. I was blessed with a metabolism that keeps me looking like Jack Skellington, so I can’t completely relate. However, I have had to advise others on weight loss and the best thing I can ask them is “What are you working out for?” If they had a reason, whatever it was, they usually succeeded. If the answer was “Because you’re making me.” they usually didn’t. Look at it this way, it’s not just the costume you have in mind now, it’s all the future costumes you’ll be able to wear. I’ll give you a bump on fb.

    1. I have 50 answers to that question, maybe more. And it’s so much more than costumes, but that’s a pretty awesome goal that keeps me in theme with what I am trying to do with the blog. I appreciate the bump. Stay tuned. 🙂

  3. Joe:

    One thing I know for certain about you, you can accomplish whatever you set your mind to. I have been through a lot of stuff myself in my personal life that maybe you will inspire me to share and turn into a mission of my own, but one thing I was exposed to early on in my process was the following question, that became a mantra for me on my road to recovery:

    “What are you willing to do to come to your own assistance?”

    You can do it! You have a support network, you have the drive, but most of all, and this holds true for you, for your one reader, and for all of us, we all deserve to have happiness in our lives. So you deserve it. Good for you. And you can bet your sweat socks I will be cheering for you every step of the way.

    Bill

    1. What do I have? I have a lot of eyes watching and a sense of determination capable of moving mountains. Of course, the dark side of determination is obsession, which I am capable of as well. I can think of worse things to obsess over than this though.

      Thank you for your support, Bill. You’re working out to be a tremendous addition to PSS.

Leave a Reply

