Game Design, Randomly Awesome

NaNoWriMo? Pfft. Please.

So, for the past few years, I’ve entertained the idea of doing NaNoWriMo. (National Novel Writing Month). For those of you not in the know, the basic idea is that in the month of November, you write a 50,000 word novel. This breaks down to every day, come hell or high water, you writing 1,666 words.

If you are a writer of any sort, this isn’t really that big of a hill to climb, however, it gets a lot more tricky when you’re tying it into one cohesive story. I really thought about throwing my hat in the ring this year, as obviously I love to write, and it would be interesting to me to see how well my sense of determination does against that.

However, as you may have noticed, it’s November 5 and I’m sitting here talking about how I thought of doing it. 5 days late. 8,330 words behind. Not to mention I’m waaaay backed up on Healthy Gamer updates and other game obligations. So what’s the answer to this?

To challenge myself with something more difficult! Today, a new trend begins. NaGaDesMo. It should be obvious to anyone reading this blog what that is short for. But in the interest of keeping it public and fun and actually doing it instead of having something already secretly done that I can reveal like magic at the end of the ride, I’m going to open it up to my readers (all 3 of you) to determine WHAT game will be designed.

I’m handing you a lot of power in this decision, and I hope that you remember that with great power, something else comes, I can’t be bothered to remember what right now. The object here is to give me an idea that I can actually accomplish and not to stump me with the impossible game. If you ask for a secret-identity abstract worker placement game with a NASCAR theme, odds are that game isn’t going to happen. Certainly not in a month, and probably not ever.

Can I make a game in a month? We’re going to find out. Will it be any good? That’s another question entirely, but all the people dedicated to their novels aren’t determined on just pushing out crap, and neither am I.

Sound off in the comments about what themes/mechanics/whatevers you want to see in the game!

10 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo? Pfft. Please.

  1. I’d like to see the “lightning turn” mechanism of Camelot but with a corresponding quick battle system that makes sense with the turn mechanism. (Basically, Camelot has two “turn” disks that get passed to the next person without a turn disk, so they can take their turn. This should be fast, but the battle system is too complicated, so unless everyone has really internalized the combat rules, the point of the lightning turns is completely destroyed, and the game sucks unless you’re an 8 year old.)

  2. I want a game that is fun for a broad range of ages (8 to adult perhaps?) that can be played in under half an hour with very short learning curve, lots of fun & not too complicated. With a fantasy or sci-fi theme but not all D&D-esque… Asking too much?? 🙂

  3. Also, a reader from Twitter has stated he wants to see a “secret mission/scoring game where players decide their own objectives as the game advances”

    Actually, that’s already in a game I’m working on O_O

  4. I want a turn based, steam punk themed small unit tactics combat game with moderately customizable characters via power up cards (a la RoboRally weapons) .

    Your move.

    1. Ladies and gentleman, your winner. I’m on this. I’ll work the disc turn base in there somewhere too. The above commenter wants it to clock in under 30 min. I’ve got my work cut out for me.

Leave a Reply

