Music, Randomly Awesome

Less-than-three: I made you a mix-tape Part 2

lovesong“There are more love songs than anything else. If songs could make you do something, we’d all love one another.” – Frank Zappa
 

One might not guess it from actually looking at the blog, but yesterday’s topic sparked a bit of interest. I got a number of responses in other channels (you guys are killing me! there’s a perfectly good spot RIGHT HERE to talk about it )

What I gained from these responses is something that I already knew, but I’d kinda forgotten. The concept of a Valentine’s Day mix like this means different things to different people.

Just like when my friends and I did The Great Mix Up, we’d pick a theme, but “Death Jam Record” didn’t have the same feel (or songs) as “Go Not Quietly To Your Grave” or “Everyone Will Die Tonight” (can you guess the theme there?). Each of them were unique to their feel, flow and content.

Music is a deliciously subjective (and often subversive) thing. There’s no “one size fits all” take to the attempt to build the quintessential Valentine’s Day mix, because it brings different reactions from different people.

To this end, I’m going to expand the idea and break it up into three  different mixes. Does it encompass everyone’s tastes and outlooks? Not even close, but it will provide a broad enough generalization  that most people should be able to relate to at least one of them.

Mix one will kick off in the theme Nerdy Hussy started yesterday, deep and down tempo. Because sometimes Valentine’s Day is about a connection that runs soul deep. 

Mix two will encompass a more uptempo collective, something to smile and dance to. Because sometimes Valentine’s Day is about the butterflies we get in a crush.

And mix three will belong to that huge crowd I can’t believe I forgot about (as I am a card carrying member), embittered singles. Because sometimes Valentine’s Day is why don’t you just fuck off?

All three mixes will need titles as well. Feel free to make suggestions to one or all mixes and encourage others to join the conversation. It’s definitely a fun topic. Rock on, nerds.

2 thoughts on “Less-than-three: I made you a mix-tape Part 2

  1. for the singles:
    Janet Jackson “What Have You Done for Me Lately?”
    Limp Bizkit “My Way”
    Ugly Kid Joe “Everything About You”
    Joan Jett “Hate Myself for Loving You”

    1. Long time listener, first time caller, huh? And the gates open for Sgt. Pepper’s Bitter Hearts Club Band. I suspect I’m going to get a lot for this one. I’m going to add to this list “Broken Box” by Queens of the Stone Age and “You For Leaving Me” by Colourmusic. YouTube them up. I think this mix would be absolutely incomplete without “Song For the Dumped” by Ben Folds Five. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

