Healthy Gamer

Healthy Gamer: So whatcha got in the bowl?

“Humor keeps us alive. Humor and food. Don’t forget food. You can go a week without laughing.”  – Joss Whedon

This totally doesn’t count as one of the posts I need to write, but a reader recently contacted me privately to ask for tips on what I eat and what I do exercise-wise, and asked me for the recipe for what I eat most frequently, which is to say my Swamp Water soup. Some people out there might like it too. It’s low fat, low carb, reasonably low cal, with dense greens and high protein. Best of all, it’s completely delicious. It also takes the edge off of the guilt I feel for not stopping time (Is Time Stop even a spell in Pathfinder?) so I can write more here.

Stuff what you’ll need
Chicken
Celery (chopped)
Carrots (however you prefer your cut, I buy the matchstick pre-cut carrots)
Onion (finely diced, I buy these pre-cut) (hey, I spend a lot of time working out, I can be lazy in the kitchen)
Bay leaves
Soup base
Thyme
Rosemary
Garlic
Pepper
Ground Turkey
Italian Parsley (flat-leaf)
Eggs
Parmesan and/or Romano cheese
Spinach and/or Kale, a “fuckton” I believe is the official measurement

Stuff what you do
Start broth by covering chicken with water in a large pot, adding celery, carrots, onion, bay leaves, thyme, rosemary, garlic, and pepper. You want to bring this to a boil, reduce heat and let it stay at a low boil for a few hours, preferably 4, though less will do. At 4 hours, you’ll have leeched the collagen from the bones, which is where a lot of flavor and nutrients come from.

Pull out chicken, add soup base. Shred chicken, discarding skin and as much fat as you can find. Add chicken back to the pot.

In large bowl, combine ground turkey, parsley (finely chopped), pepper, garlic and cheese, mix as well as you can. Add eggs one at a time (they act as an emulsifier) and mix into meat mixture until you can definitely tell there is egg in it, but not excessive egg. Form into meatballs. You want to go a little on the smaller side because a) ground turkey doesn’t have a lot of fat, so it won’t cook down much. and b) cooking in water, they will absorb moisture and actually get bigger. Add meatballs slowly to low boiling broth, cover, let cook for 35 minutes.

When meatballs are done, add greens to the pot, as much as you can stuff in there. When you’ve filled the pot, stir them in/push them down, they will soften immediately, making room for more.  ALWAYS MORE.  I have used a spinach and kale blend, but on the most recent batch I used only spinach and found I liked it more. Once all greens are in, cover and let cook for 5 minutes. Serve and enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Healthy Gamer: So whatcha got in the bowl?

  1. Sounds good i might have yo try that. It sounds simular to a vegtable soup my wife makes. Its really good and only has 50 calories per bowl.
    Did you come up with it yourself or did you find it some where?

Leave a Reply

