Randomly Awesome

Changing of the Guard

“Fortunate people often have very favorable beginnings and very tragic endings. What matters isn’t being applauded when you arrive – for that is common – but being missed when you leave.” – Baltasar Gracian

You’re probably confused about this post, You may be thinking, “Joe posted something last month, so I can safely tune out PSS til May or so.” You may be thinking something considerably more snarky than that. If you’re at all a fan of this place, odds are strong that you are certainly thinking something more snarky than that. Snark away, my lovelies, but I have to take away one thing for you to joke about.

There are some priorities shifting in my life, and they involve me writing here a lot more than I have been. For questionably professional reasons. We live in exciting times, ladies and gentlemen. All four of you that are reading this.

So what will I be writing about? Let’s cut to the chase and talk about what you can expect to see from the lovable scamps here in the reasonably near future.

Kickstarter (P)reviews: After a considerable hiatus, I am accepting review opportunities for those others trying to chase their design dreams. We’re all in this together. I’m not going to give every game a good review (though I will always give an honest one) and I can’t accept every request I get (I get more than you might expect. Certainly more than I expected), but I will take on as many as I can realistically do and write about in an acceptable amount of time. Word to the wise if you’re trying to win me over though, do your research. Make me feel like you’ve read more than 3 words on the blog. The first time I got an email asking me to review a game, citing that the sender of the email was a big fan of Clever Game Reference, it was pretty amusing. It was still funny-ish the 2nd and 3rd times too. Less so on the 20th time. If you’re pandering to me and can’t even name the blog correctly, you’re not painting a very good picture of a fan. Show investment, and you’ll probably get special attention. I’m a vain little monkey, pat my head, tell me I’m pretty, and I’ll give you the moon.

Reader Requested Reviews: This is a new thing. You might like a game, or you might be thinking of picking up a game and want to know what my 1.5 cents on it are. Shoot me an email, or drop me a comment. I can’t promise when it will happen (there’s a lot in the queue right now) but I will listen to what my three readers want. I don’t know why one of them just dropped off.

Other Kickstarter Reviews: I’ve taken a sacred vow. An ironclad vow of such steely conviction that it has already been broken at least 3-4 times since making it. I’ve sworn off Kickstarter. Again. This time I have a goal in mind. I will not back another Kickstarter project without very good reason (there are already planned exceptions to this rule) until I have played and written here about every game I’ve backed so far. It…might take a while. Years, most likely. Seeing as I need to play a game 3-4 times before feeling informed enough to write on it, this is a large undertaking. Here’s a list of the games you can expect to see me scribble about. A lot of these are not even in my possession yet. WarMage, Peptide: A Protein Building Game, Caper, Steampunk Rally, Strife: Legacy of the Eternals, The World of Smog: On Her Majesty’s Service, ZU – The Card Game, Elemental Blast, Yashima: Legend of the Kami Masters, Of Dungeons Deep, Vye: The Card Game of Capture and Control, Clockwork Kingdom, Eminent Domain: Microcosm, Bomb Squad Academy, New Salem, Antidote, Tiny Epic Defenders, Scrapyard Empire, Harbour, Ophir, Yardmaster Express, Shadow Throne, Minion, Pixel Glory, Tuscany: Expand the World of Viticulture, Scoville, Democracy: Majority Rules, Tammany Hall, Goblins Drool, Fairies Rule, Pixel Lincoln: The Deckbuilding Game, Great Heartland Hauling Co., The Great Fire of London 1666, Heroes of Metro City, Mars Needs Mechanics, Marauders, Boss Monster, Sentinels of the Multiverse, Battle For Souls, Compounded, Machine of Death: The Game of Creative Assassination, Dungeon Roll, Walk the Plank, Gear & Piston, Euphoria: Build a Better Dystopia, Archon: Glory & Machination, Xia: Legends of a Drift System, Belle of the Ball, Templar Intrigue, Pandante, Tiny Epic Kingdoms, Arcadia Quest, Coup: Reformation, Evolution, Draco Magi, Omen: A Reign of War, Phoenix Covenant, DragonFlame, Operation F.A.U.S.T., Stockpile, I Hate Zombies, and Coven. Clearly I have a problem, and this is my 50 step recovery program. Oh yeah, and let’s not forget Scythe, which as far as I’m concerned is being designed just for me. I’ll also be talking about a game that excites me more than any of the games listed above, a little gem called How To Serve Man. Go become a fan on BGG, go give Gateway Games on Facebook a like while you’re at it. I WILL KNOW IF YOU DON’T.

More Strategeries: I’ve gotten a number of requests for me to write more stuff about the Thunderstone Advance releases I haven’t talked about. Which means Numenera, the Starter Set, Worlds Collide and Into the Abyss. This is where I have done the most of my design work known to the gaming public, so I should probably fulfill these requests.

Design Diaries: I’ll be talking a lot more about the projects that Gateway Games is working on, including How To Serve Man and Building Steam, as well as a number of other games that don’t have working titles yet. Discussions about various themes and mechanics and other such behind the scenes nonsense.

Healthy Gamer: This has not gone off to the wayside, and I know that there are plenty of people who like reading about my struggles with getting healthy, my revelations and experiences along that path, and my various misadventures regarding dating, small spaces and the misconceptions that come about when you’re a goddamn giant. Rest assured, this is still a very important thing to me, and I will be writing about it more here too.

Oh yeah, those other games: There are plenty of things I want to write about that haven’t been discussed above. Doomtown: Reloaded. Dead of Winter. This list could seriously stretch for days. So many games, so little time. We’re going to get to all of them, but be patient. Pack a lunch, get a comfortable seat, we’re going to be here a while.

Off we go! What games are rocking your world lately?

 

12 thoughts on “Changing of the Guard

  1. I’m excited to see what’s yet to come on your blog! If you ever think it would be interested to have a back-and-forth discussion about certain games on your blog (as the blog entry itself), I’m totally game for being the ying to your yang. That sounds dirty, but you know what I mean. I’m looking forward to all the new content!

    1. This is the best idea. I know you didn’t mean dirty, but I wouldn’t kick you out of bed is all I’m saying. Fellas, amirite? Except for when I first met you (we played Sentinels of the Multiverse and that one prorotype game with the warlords). You had a mustache for no-shave November, and I would have certainly kicked you out of bed then. And wondered how drunk I must have been for letting you there in the first place. You + mustache = funny in a creepy uncle kind of way. But I digress.

      I guess we would pick a game and email back and forth, then edit it down to the juicy bits before publishing? I would read something like that. I dig it. Let’s do this.

      1. Your all-caps comment below made me laugh out loud. And yes, the mustache was a bad idea. Even though it was a good cause–I think it did more harm than good.

        I would suggest using a Google Doc/Spreadsheet–you can write a paragraph, and I’ll get a notification that you’ve written it, and I’ll write a paragraph, then you, and so on until it forms a cohesive whole. Let’s try it to see how it goes.

        As for the game in question, on your list the only one I could do is Xia, and I’ve only played it once. Other games I played for the first time this year enough times to talk about are: Power Grid, Good Cop Bad Cop, Sheriff of Nottingham, Chinatown, Yedo, Forbidden Desert, Lewis & Clark, Telestrations, Splendor, Tribute, For Sale, and Coconuts.

      2. If it goes well enough to warrant repeat performances (and how could it not?) we’ll need a catchy title so I can make it one of the categories here. 🙂

        I’ve only played Xia once too, I’m curious what you thought about it, though I might want to play again before we put that into a collaborative blog post. Of your list, I could do Forbidden Desert, Splendor and Coconuts for sure, and it wouldn’t take much to get me gabby about For Sale, Lewis and Clark, Good Cop Bad Cop and Sheriff of Nottingham.

    1. I’ve got a better idea, let’s play it a few times so I can get comfortable writing about it. When I played the game the first time, by the time I had figured out my path to victory, the “a-ha!” moment, the game ended. And then a long period passed before I played it again. Long enough that I don’t remember what that was. The second verse was the same as the first, figured it out…two turns too late. Repeat for the third. So, yes, let’s play, but let’s play more than once, and in a shorter time than a year. 🙂

      Also, as I recall, the dice hated me my last game, and I seriously lost workers on bad odds SEVERAL TIMES. Famous last words: “I have to roll a 17+ on 3D6 for this bad thing to happen…I think I’ll be fine” The first time was a bummer. The second time was hysterical.

Leave a Reply

