about a game..., Board Gaming, HAY GUISE I MADE A GAME

How to Tease Man

“Vegetarians, and their Hezbollah-like splinter faction, the vegans … are the enemy of everything good and decent in the human spirit.” – Anthony Bourdain

DISCLAIMER: I’m getting ready to talk about a game. I’m going to do so in a positive fashion. I am involved in the creation of this game. I think it’s a good game in spite of this. 🙂H2smfb

This happened a while ago, the proverbial pebble that started an avalanche. I had a dream about an Iron Chef style cooking competition via a worker placement game. I looked at some other cooking themed games, and nothing really looked like what was in my head, so I jotted down some ideas and told the other Gateway Games guys my plan. We have an active idea roster that we’re always building something from.

Jamie Toon, a longtime friend of mine and one of the Gateway Games anchors, took my idea and put a spin on it, “What if the players were alien chefs and they were making dishes out of people?” Well, obviously that’s better. He ran with it and not too much later we had a prototype together.

Coming February 8th, Gateway Games is proud to launch their first game via Kickstarter, How to Serve Man. That means I’m going to be talking about it a lot between now and then, and even more once we’ve live.  I’ll be talking about design ideas, playtest sessions and other sorts of behind the scenes stuff that one might expect from a low-rent “Behind the Music” sort of thing.

Stick around to see how this

Yes, the "meat penis" joke was made. Many times.
Yes, the “meat penis” joke was made. Many times.

 

Became this h2smcover

 

Go like Gateway Games on Facebook for other updates, and pretend like I’m going to talk about other things to play up the importance of that decision. Go to our page on BGG and become a fan. Your social media likes are the only way we can feel anything anymore.

 

2 thoughts on “How to Tease Man

  1. You can also go to Board Game Geek and check the game out there. I don’t expect a good rating until you’ve played, but you can become a fan if you want!
    Also, keep an eye on our Facebook page for more info on how you can participate in Playtest sessions.

Leave a Reply

